FacebookTwitter LinkedIn

Claire Pomeroy Award For Innovation in Medical Technology

Established in 2010, The Claire Pomeroy Awards for Innovation in Medical Technology are given to recognize and celebrate outstanding achievement by someone in our region for innovation in medical technology.  The 2013 nomination process opened on March 12, 2013.  Submission deadline is Friday, April 12, 2013 at 11:59 pm. The winner will be announced at the Med Tech Showcase on Tuesday, May 14, 2013.  Download the nomination form.

2013 Awards Committee
Award Criteria

The awards will be made by the Awards Committee to recognize innovators who have created important and high impact inventions and products (e.g. devices, drugs, diagnostics, medical IT products, etc.) that advance our region. Their inventions/products should transform an important aspect of the practice of medicine and/or the delivery of healthcare services, making them safer, more effective, less costly, and/or more accessible. Their invention or product must be in commercial or approved use in the medical industry. The Committee will prioritize those who have benefited SARTA’s nine county region (Butte, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Solano, Sutter, Yolo and Yuba).

Parameters to be assessed in making the awards may include:

Prior non-winning finalists will automatically be reconsidered. If there are updates, the nominees or their nominators are welcome to submit them.

2013 Award Winner

William Bargar, MDInventor of ROBODOC® a robotic surgical system for total knee and hip replacements

2013 Nominees

David Batchelor – Inventor of Healthcare identity solution, LifeMed ID
Lisa Earnhardt – Co-developed PROPEL™ mini dissolvable steroid-releasing implant
Joseph Simpson – Inventor of the Locking Cap for prescription bottles
Juan Ruben Valerio – Inventor of Meds On Time, a pill reminder device

2012 Award Winner

Brian WatwoodWijit® Lever Driving and Braking System

2011 Award Winner

Richard Wampler M.D., Hemopump and HVAD Heart Assist Device

2010 Award Winners

Philip H. Coelho, BioArchive System by Thermogenesis
Edward A. Smeloff, Smeloff-Cutter Heart Valve
Warren D. Smith, PK Factor for assessing consciousness of patients under anesthesia
Richard K. Wertz, Autoscan Automated Microbiology Diagnostic System